By George Eliot
Book Description

A literary landmark in its groundbreaking approach, as well as a priceless document of its age One of the most ambitious narratives of nineteenth-century realism, "Middlemarch" tells the story of an entire town in the years leading up to the Reform Bill of 1832, a time when modern methods were starting to challenge old orthodoxies. Eliot's sophisticated and acute characterization gives rich expression to every nuance of feeling, and vividly brings to life the town's inhabitants--including the young idealist Dorothea Brooke, the dry scholar Casaubon, the young, passionate reformist doctor Lydgate, the flighty young beauty Rosamond, and the old, secretive banker Bulstrode--as they move in counterpoint to each other. Art, religion, politics, society, science, human relationships in all their complexity--nothing is left unexamined under the narrator's microscope. Also included in this edition are pictures and an extensive section on George Eliot's life and works.

Table of Contents
  • Prelude
  • Book I. Miss Brooke.
  • Chapter I.
  • Chapter II.
  • Chapter III.
  • Chapter IV.
  • Chapter V.
  • Chapter VI.
  • Chapter VII.
  • Chapter VIII.
  • Chapter IX.
  • Chapter X.
  • Chapter XI.
  • Chapter XII.
  • Book II. Old and Young
  • Chapter XIII.
  • Chapter XIV.
  • Chapter XV.
  • Chapter XVI.
  • Chapter XVII.
  • Chapter XVIII.
  • Chapter XIX.
  • Chapter XX.
  • Chapter XXI.
  • Chapter XXII.
  • Book III. Waiting for Death
  • Chapter XXIII.
  • Chapter XXIV.
  • Chapter XXV.
  • Chapter XXVI.
  • Chapter XXVII.
  • Chapter XXVIII.
  • Chapter XXIX.
  • Chapter XXX.
  • Chapter XXXI.
  • Chapter XXXII.
  • Chapter XXXIII.
  • Book IV. Three Love Problems.
  • Chapter XXXIV.
  • Chapter XXXV.
  • Chapter XXXVI.
  • Chapter XXXVII.
  • Chapter XXXVIII.
  • Chapter XXXIX.
  • Chapter XL.
  • Chapter XLI.
  • Chapter XLII.
  • Book V. The Dead Hand.
  • Chapter XLIII.
  • Chapter XLIV.
  • Chapter XLV.
  • Chapter XLVI.
  • Chapter XLVII.
  • Chapter XLVIII
  • Chapter XLIX.
  • Chapter L.
  • Chapter LI.
  • Chapter LII.
  • Chapter LIII.
  • Book VI. The Widow and the Wife.
  • Chapter LIV.
  • Chapter LV.
  • Chapter LVI.
  • Chapter LVII.
  • Chapter LVIII.
  • Chapter LIX.
  • Chapter LX.
  • Chapter LXI.
  • Chapter LXII.
  • Book VII. Two Temptations.
  • Chapter LXIII.
  • Chapter LXIV.
  • Chapter LXV.
  • Chapter LXVI.
  • Chapter LXVII.
  • Chapter LXVIII.
  • Chapter LXIX.
  • Chapter LXX.
  • Chapter LXXI.
  • Book VIII. Sunset and Sunrise.
  • Chapter LXXII.
  • Chapter LXXIII.
  • Chapter LXXIV.
  • Chapter LXXV.
  • Chapter LXXVI.
  • Chapter LXXVII.
  • Chapter LXXVIII.
  • Chapter LXXIX.
  • Chapter LXXX.
  • Chapter LXXXI.
  • Chapter LXXXII.
  • Chapter LXXXIII.
  • Chapter LXXXIV.
  • Chapter LXXXV.
  • Chapter LXXXVI.
  • Finale.
    No review for this book yet, be the first to review.
      No comment for this book yet, be the first to comment
      You May Also Like
      Adam Bede
      Adam Bede
      By George Eliot
      Tom and Maggie Tulliver
      Tom and Maggie Tulliver
      By George Eliot
      The Lifted Veil (Dodo Press)
      The Lifted Veil (Dodo Press)
      By George Eliot
      Scenes of Clerical Life
      Scenes of Clerical Life
      By George Eliot
      The Lifted Veil
      The Lifted Veil
      By George Eliot
      By George Eliot
      Daniel Deronda
      By George Eliot
      The Mill on the Floss
      By George Eliot
      Also Available On
      Curated Lists
      • Pattern Recognition and Machine Learning (Information Science and Statistics)
        by Christopher M. Bishop
        Data mining
        by I. H. Witten
        The Elements of Statistical Learning: Data Mining, Inference, and Prediction
        by Various
        See more...
      • CK-12 Chemistry
        by Various
        Concept Development Studies in Chemistry
        by John Hutchinson
        An Introduction to Chemistry - Atoms First
        by Mark Bishop
        See more...
      • Microsoft Word - How to Use Advanced Algebra II.doc
        by Jonathan Emmons
        Advanced Algebra II: Activities and Homework
        by Kenny Felder
        See more...
      • The Sun Who Lost His Way
        Tania is a Detective
        by Kanika G
        See more...
      • Java 3D Programming
        by Daniel Selman
        The Java EE 6 Tutorial
        by Oracle Corporation
        See more...