Standard eBooks
The Brothers Karamazov
Fyodor Dostoevsky
The Brothers Karamazov

A dispute over inheritance between father and son escalates into a family feud.

The Brothers Karamazov
Part I
Book I: The History of a Family
I: Fyodor Pavlovitch Karamazov
II: He Gets Rid of His Eldest Son
III: The Second Marriage and the Second Family
IV: The Third Son, Alyosha
V: Elders
Book II: An Unfortunate Gathering
I: They Arrive at the Monastery
II: The Old Buffoon
III: Peasant Women Who Have Faith
IV: A Lady of Little Faith
V: So Be It! So Be It!
VI: Why Is Such a Man Alive?
VII: A Young Man Bent on a Career
VIII: The Scandalous Scene
Book III: The Sensualists
I: In the Servants’ Quarters
II: Lizaveta
III: The Confession of a Passionate Heart—In Verse
IV: The Confession of a Passionate Heart—In Anecdote
V: The Confession of a Passionate Heart—“Heels Up”
VI: Smerdyakov
VII: The Controversy
VIII: Over the Brandy
IX: The Sensualists
X: Both Together
XI: Another Reputation Ruined
Part II
Book IV: Lacerations
I: Father Ferapont
II: At His Father’s
III: A Meeting with the Schoolboys
IV: At the Hohlakovs’
V: A Laceration in the Drawing-Room
VI: A Laceration in the Cottage
VII: And in the Open Air
Book V: Pro and Contra
I: The Engagement
II: Smerdyakov with a Guitar
III: The Brothers Make Friends
IV: Rebellion
V: The Grand Inquisitor
VI: For Awhile a Very Obscure One
VII: “It’s Always Worth While Speaking to a Clever Man”
Book VI: The Russian Monk
I: Father Zossima and His Visitors
II: The Duel
III: Conversations and Exhortations of Father Zossima
Part III
Book VII: Alyosha
I: The Breath of Corruption
II: A Critical Moment
III: An Onion
IV: Cana of Galilee
Book VIII: Mitya
I: Kuzma Samsonov
II: Lyagavy
III: Goldmines
IV: In the Dark
V: A Sudden Resolution
VI: “I Am Coming, Too!”
VII: The First and Rightful Lover
VIII: Delirium
Book IX: The Preliminary Investigation
I: The Beginning of Perhotin’s Official Career
II: The Alarm
III: The Sufferings of a Soul, the First Ordeal
IV: The Second Ordeal
V: The Third Ordeal
VI: The Prosecutor Catches Mitya
VII: Mitya’s Great Secret. Received with Hisses
VIII: The Evidence of the Witnesses. The Babe
IX: They Carry Mitya Away
Part IV
Book X: The Boys
I: Kolya Krassotkin
II: Children
III: The Schoolboy
IV: The Lost Dog
V: By Ilusha’s Bedside
VI: Precocity
VII: Ilusha
Book XI: Ivan
I: At Grushenka’s
II: The Injured Foot
III: A Little Demon
IV: A Hymn and a Secret
V: Not You, Not You!
VI: The First Interview with Smerdyakov
VII: The Second Visit to Smerdyakov
VIII: The Third and Last Interview with Smerdyakov
IX: The Devil. Ivan’s Nightmare
X: “It Was He Who Said That”
Book XII: A Judicial Error
I: The Fatal Day
II: Dangerous Witnesses
III: The Medical Experts and a Pound of Nuts
IV: Fortune Smiles on Mitya
V: A Sudden Catastrophe
VI: The Prosecutor’s Speech. Sketches of Character
VII: An Historical Survey
VIII: A Treatise on Smerdyakov
IX: The Galloping Troika. The End of the Prosecutor’s Speech
X: The Speech for the Defense. An Argument That Cuts Both Ways
XI: There Was No Money. There Was No Robbery
XII: And There Was No Murder Either
XIII: A Corrupter of Thought
XIV: The Peasants Stand Firm
I: Plans for Mitya’s Escape
II: For a Moment the Lie Becomes Truth
III: Ilusha’s Funeral. The Speech at the Stone
The book hasn't received reviews yet.
You May Also Like
Poor Folk
Fyodor Dostoevsky
Poor Folk
Dead Souls
Nikolai Gogol
Dead Souls
The Gambler
Fyodor Dostoevsky
The Gambler
Notes from Underground
Fyodor Dostoevsky
Notes from Underground
The Idiot
Fyodor Dostoevsky
The Idiot
Crime and Punishment
Fyodor Dostoevsky
Crime and Punishment
Pelle the Conqueror
Martin Andersen Nexø
Pelle the Conqueror
Philip Wylie
Daniel Deronda
George Eliot
Daniel Deronda