Standard eBooks
The Water of the Wondrous Isles
William Morris
The Water of the Wondrous Isles

A beautiful woman escapes a life of servitude under an evil witch to adventure through a series of magical islands.

The First Part: Of the House of Captivity
I: Catch at Utterhay
II: Now Shall Be Told of the House by the Waterside
III: Of Skin-Changing
IV: Of the Waxing of the Stolen Child
V: Of Birdalone, and How She Is Grown Into Maidenhood
VI: Herein Is Told of Birdalone’s Raiment
VII: Birdalone Hath an Adventure in the Wood
VIII: Of Birdalone and the Witch-Wife
IX: Of Birdalone’s Swimming
X: Birdalone Comes on New Tidings
XI: Of Birdalone’s Guilt and the Chastisement Thereof
XII: The Words of the Witch-Wife to Birdalone
XIII: Birdalone Meeteth the Wood-Woman Again
XIV: Of Birdalone’s Fishing
XV: Birdalone Weareth Her Serpent-Ring
XVI: Birdalone Meeteth Habundia Again; and Learneth Her First Wisdom of Her
XVII: The Passing of the Year Into Winter
XVIII: Of Spring-Tide and the Mind of Birdalone
XIX: They Bid Farewell, Birdalone and the Wood-Mother
XX: Of Birdalone and the Sending Boat
The Second Part: Of the Wondrous Isles
I: The First Isle
II: Birdalone Falleth in with New Friends
III: Birdalone Is Brought Before the Witch-Wife’s Sister
IV: Of the Witch’s Prison in the Wailing-Tower
V: They Feast in the Witch’s Prison
VI: Atra Tells of How They Three Came Unto the Isle of Increase Unsought
VII: The Three Damsels Take Birdalone Out of the Witch’s Prison
VIII: In What Wise Birdalone Was Clad, and How She Went Her Ways from the Isle of Increase Unsought
IX: How Birdalone Came to the Isle of the Young and the Old
X: Birdalone Comes to the Isle of the Queens
XI: And Now She Comes to the Isle of the Kings
XII: Of Birdalone, How She Came Unto the Isle of Nothing
The Third Part: Of the Castle of the Quest
I: Birdalone Comes to the Castle of the Quest
II: Of Birdalone, and How She Rested the Night Through in a Bower Without the Castle of the Quest
III: How Birdalone Dight Her for Meeting the Champions of the Quest
IV: And Now She Meets the Champions
V: Birdalone Has True Tokens from the Champions of the Quest
VI: How the Champions Would Do Birdalone to Be Clad Anew in the Castle of the Quest
VII: Of Birdalone, How She Told the Champions All Her Tale
VIII: In the Meanwhile of the Departing of the Champions, They Would Pleasure Birdalone with Feats of Arms and Games of Prowess
IX: Birdalone Cometh Before the Champions in Her New Array
X: The Champions Go Their Ways in the Sending Boat
The Fourth Part: Of the Days of Abiding
I: Of Birdalone’s Grief; and of Leonard the Chaplain
II: Birdalone Learneth Lore of the Priest. Ten Days of Waiting Wear
III: Now Would Birdalone Ride Abroad
IV: Of Birdalone’s Faring Abroad
V: Sir Aymeris Showeth Birdalone the Mountains Afar Off
VI: Birdalone Heareth Tell Tales of the Black Valley of the Greywethers
VII: Birdalone Beguileth the Priest to Help Her to Outgoing
VIII: Birdalone Fares on Her Adventure
IX: Birdalone Comes to the Black Valley
X: How Birdalone Fell in with a Man in the Black Valley of the Greywethers
XI: Birdalone Is Led Up the Black Valley
XII: How Those Twain Get Them from Out of the Black Valley of the Greywethers
XIII: Now They Rest for the Night in the Strait Pass
XIV: The Black Knight Tells the Truth of Himself
XV: The Black Knight Brings Birdalone to the Bower in the Dale
XVI: Yet a Day and a Night They Tarry in the Dale
The Fifth Part: The Tale of the Quest’s Ending
I: Of Sir Leonard’s Trouble and the Coming of the Quest
II: Now Ask They of Birdalone, and Sir Leonard Speaks
III: How They Follow the Slot of Birdalone and the Black Knight
IV: Of the Slaying of Friend and Foe
V: They Come Home to the Castle of the Quest
VI: Of the Talk Betwixt Birdalone and Viridis
VII: Birdalone Telleth the Tale of Her Wandering Up the Valley of the Greywethers
VIII: Atra and Birdalone Talk Together While the Lords Sit at the Murder-Council
IX: Hugh Tells the Story of the Quest’s Ending
X: How It Fared with the Three Ladies After the Escape of Birdalone
XI: Birdalone and the Black Squire Talk Together in the Hall of the Castle
XII: The Knights and Their Fellows Betake Them to the Assaulting of the Red Hold
XIII: Birdalone Bethinks Her to Fulfil the Promise Made Unto Atra
XIV: Birdalone Leaves the Castle of the Quest
The Sixth Part: The Days of Absence
I: Birdalone Rides to Greenford and There Takes Leave of Arnold and His Men
II: Of Birdalone and Her Fellowship, Their Faring Over the Downland
III: They Come to the City of the Five Crafts, and Birdalone Meets with the Poor-Wife
IV: Of the Love of Gerard’s Sons and of Jacobus for Birdalone
V: Of the Death of Audrey, Mother to Birdalone. She Is Warned in a Dream to Seek the Black Squire, and Is Minded to Depart the City of the Five Crafts, and Seek Again the Castle of the Quest
VI: Of the Sundering of Birdalone from Gerard and His Sons
VII: Birdalone Cometh to Greenford, and Hears of the Wasting of the Castle of the Quest
VIII: Birdalone Cometh to the Castle of the Quest, Heareth the Tale Thereof from Leonard, and Departeth Thence by the Sending Boat
IX: Birdalone Findeth the Isle of Nothing Greatly Bettered, and Is Kindly Entreated There
X: Of Birdalone’s Flitting from the Isle of Nothing
XI: Coming to the Isle of Kings Birdalone Findeth There a Score and Two of Fair Damsels Who Would Fain Have Her Company
XII: Birdalone Cometh Again to the Isle of Queens, and Findeth a Perilous Adventure Therein
XIII: Coming to the Isle of the Young and the Old, Birdalone Findeth It Peopled with Children
XIV: The Sending Boat Disappeareth from the Isle of Increase Unsought, and Birdalone Seeketh to Escape Thence by Swimming
XV: Birdalone Lacketh Little of Drowning, but Cometh Latterly to the Green Eyot
XVI: Birdalone Findeth Her Witch-Mistress Dead
XVII: Birdalone Layeth to Earth the Body of the Witch, and Findeth the Sending Boat Broken Up
XVIII: The Wood-Mother Cometh to Birdalone and Heareth Her Story
XIX: Habundia Hideth Birdalone’s Nakedness with Faery Raiment
XX: Birdalone Telleth Habundia of Her Love for Arthur, and Getteth from Her Promise of Help Therein
XXI: How the Wood-Wife Entered the Cot, and a Wonder That Befell Thereon
XXII: Birdalone Wendeth the Wildwood in Fellowship with Habundia
XXIII: The Wood-Wife Bringeth Birdalone to the Sight of Arthur in the Wildwood
XXIV: The Wood-Mother Changeth Her Form to That of a Woman Stricken in Years
XXV: The Wood-Wife Healeth and Tendeth the Black Squire
XXVI: The Black Squire Telleth the Wood-Wife of His Doings Since Birdalone Went from the Castle of the Quest
XXVII: Sir Arthur Cometh to the House Under the Wood
XXVIII: Fair Days in the House of Love
XXIX: Those Twain Will Seek the Wisdom of the Wood-Wife
XXX: They Have Speech with Habundia Concerning the Green Knight and His Fellows
XXXI: Habundia Cometh with Tidings of Those Dear Friends
XXXII: Of the Fight in the Forest and the Rescue of Those Friends from the Men of the Red Company
XXXIII: Viridis Telleth the Tale of Their Seeking
The Seventh Part: The Days of Returning
I: Sir Hugh Asketh Birdalone Where She Would Have the Abode of Their Fellowship to Be
II: Birdalone Taketh Counsel with Her Wood-Mother Concerning the Matter of Sir Hugh
III: Of the Journeying Through the Forest of Evilshaw Unto the Town of Utterhay
IV: Of the Abiding in Utterhay in Love and Contentment
The book hasn't received reviews yet.
You May Also Like
George MacDonald
Hope Mirrlees
The Worm Ouroboros
E. R. Eddison
The Worm Ouroboros
The Book of Wonder
Lord Dunsany
The Book of Wonder
James Branch Cabell
George MacDonald