Free

The Spectator, Volume 1 Eighteenth-Century Periodical Essays

By Joseph Addison, Sir Richard Steele
Free
Book Description
Table of Contents
  • The Spectator
  • original advertisement
  • Preface
  • Original Dedication
  • No. 1
  • Thursday, March 1, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 2
  • Friday, March 2, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 3
  • Thursday, March 1, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 4
  • Monday, March 5, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 5
  • Tuesday, March 6, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 6
  • Wednesday, March 7, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 7
  • Thursday, March 8, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 8
  • Friday, March 9, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 9
  • Saturday, March 10, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 10
  • Monday, March 12, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 11
  • Tuesday, March 13, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 12
  • Wednesday, March 14, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 13
  • Thursday, March 15, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 14
  • Friday, March 16, 1711
  • Steele
    • original advertisement
  • No. 15
  • Saturday, March 17, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 16
  • Monday, March 19, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 17
  • Tuesday, March 20, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 18
  • Wednesday, March 21, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 19
  • Thursday, March 22, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 20
  • Friday, March 23, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 21
  • Saturday, March 24, 17111
  • Addison
  • No. 22
  • Monday, March 26, 1711
  • Steele
    • original advertisement
  • No. 23
  • Tuesday, March 27, 17111
  • Addison
  • No. 24
  • Wednesday, March 28, 1711
  • Steele
    • original advertisement
  • No. 25
  • Thursday, March 29, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 26
  • Friday, March 30, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 27
  • Saturday, March 31, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 28
  • Monday, April 2, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 29
  • Tuesday, April 3, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 30
  • Wednesday, April 4, 17111
  • Steele
  • No. 31
  • Thursday, April 5, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 32
  • Friday, April 6, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 33
  • Saturday, April 7, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 34
  • Monday, April 9, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 35
  • Tuesday, April 10, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 36
  • Wednesday, April 11, 1711
  • Steele
    • original advertisement
  • No. 37
  • Thursday, April 12, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 38
  • Friday, April 13, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 39
  • Saturday, April 14, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 40
  • Monday, April 16, 1711
  • Addison
    • original advertisement
  • No. 41
  • Tuesday, April 17, 1711
  • Steele
    • original advertisement
  • No. 42
  • Wednesday, April 18, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 43
  • Thursday, April 19, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 44
  • Friday, April 20, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 45
  • Saturday, April 21, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 46
  • Monday, April 23, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 47
  • Tuesday, April 24, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 48
  • Wednesday, April 25, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 49
  • Thursday, April 26, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 50
  • Friday, April 27, 17111
  • Addison
  • No. 51
  • Saturday, April 28, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 52
  • Thursday, April 2, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 53
  • Tuesday, May 1, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 54
  • Wednesday, May 2, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 55
  • Thursday, May 3, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 56
  • Friday, May 4, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 57
  • Saturday, May 5, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 58
  • Monday, May 7, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 59
  • Tuesday, May 8, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 60
  • Wednesday, May 9, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 61
  • Thursday, May 10, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 62
  • Friday, May 11, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 63
  • Saturday, May 12, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 64
  • Monday, May 14, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 65
  • Tuesday, May 15, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 66
  • Wednesday, May 16, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 67
  • Thursday, May 17, 1711
  • Budgell1
    • Postscript
  • No. 68
  • Friday, May 18, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 69
  • Saturday, May 19, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 70
  • Monday, May 21, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 71
  • Tuesday, May 22, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 72
  • Wednesday, May 23, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 73
  • Thursday, May 24, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 74
  • Friday, May 25, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 75
  • Saturday, May 26, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 76
  • Monday, May 28, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 77
  • Tuesday, May 29, 1711
  • Budgell
  • No. 78
  • Wednesday, May 30, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 79
  • Thursday, May 31, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 80
  • Friday, June 1, 1711
  • Steele
    • Dedication to the Second Volume as Originally Issued
  • No. 81
  • Saturday, June 2, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 82
  • Monday, June 4, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 83
  • Tuesday, June 5, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 84
  • Wednesday, June 6, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 85
  • Thursday, June 7, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 86
  • Friday, June 8, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 87
  • Saturday, June 9, 1711
  • Steele
    • original advertisement
  • No. 88
  • Monday, June 11, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 89
  • Tuesday, June 12, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 90
  • Wednesday, June 13, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 91
  • Thursday, June 14, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 92
  • Friday, June 15, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 93
  • Saturday, June 16, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 94
  • Monday, June 18, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 95
  • Tuesday, June 19, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 96
  • Wednesday, June 20, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 97
  • Thursday, June 21, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 98
  • Friday, June 22, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 99
  • Saturday, June 23, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 100
  • Monday, June 25, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 101
  • Tuesday, June 26, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 102
  • Wednesday, June 27, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 103
  • Thursday, June 28, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 104
  • Friday, June 29, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 105
  • Saturday, June 30, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 106
  • Monday, July 2, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 107
  • Tuesday, July 3, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 108
  • Wednesday, July 4, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 109
  • Thursday, July 5, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 110
  • Friday, July 6, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 111
  • Saturday, July 7, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 112
  • Monday, July 9, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 113
  • Tuesday, July 10, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 114
  • Wednesday, July 11, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 115
  • Thursday, July 12, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 116
  • Friday, July 13, 1711
  • Budgell
  • No. 117
  • Saturday, July 14, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 118
  • Monday, July 16, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 119
  • Tuesday, July 17, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 120
  • Wednesday, July 18, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 121
  • Thursday, July 19, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 122
  • Friday, July 20, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 123
  • Saturday, July 21, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 124
  • Monday, July 23, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 125
  • Tuesday, July 24, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 126
  • Wednesday, July 25, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 127
  • Thursday, July 26, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 128
  • Friday, July 27, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 129
  • Saturday, July 28, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 130
  • Monday, July 30, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 131
  • Tuesday, July 31, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 132
  • Wednesday, August 1, 1711
  • Steel
  • No. 133
  • Thursday, August 2, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 134
  • Friday, August 3, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 135
  • Saturday, August 4, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 136
  • Monday, August 6, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 137
  • Tuesday, August 7, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 138
  • Wednesday, August 8, 1711
  • Steele
    • original advertisement
  • No. 139
  • Thursday, August 9, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 140
  • Friday, August 10, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 141
  • Saturday, August 11, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 142
  • Monday, August 13, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 143
  • Tuesday, August 14, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 144
  • Wednesday, August 15, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 145
  • Thursday, August 16, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 146
  • Friday, August 17, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 147
  • Saturday, August 18, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 148
  • Monday, August 20, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 149
  • Tuesday, August 21, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 150
  • Wednesday, August 22, 1711
  • Budgell
  • No. 151
  • Thursday, August 23, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 152
  • Friday, August 24, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 153
  • Saturday, August 25, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 154
  • Monday, August 27, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 1551
  • Tuesday, August 28, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 156
  • Wednesday, August 29, 1711
  • Steele
    • original advertisement
  • No. 157
  • Thursday, August 30, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 158
  • Friday, August 31, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 159
  • Saturday, September 1, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 160
  • Monday, September 3, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 161
  • Tuesday, September 4, 1711
  • Budgell
  • No. 162
  • Wednesday, September 5, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 163
  • Thursday, September 6, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 164
  • Friday, September 7, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 165
  • Saturday, September 8, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 166
  • Monday, September 10, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 167
  • Tuesday, September 11, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 168
  • Wednesday, September 12, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 169
  • Thursday, September 13, 1711
  • Addison
  • original dedication
  • No. 170
  • Friday, September 14, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 171
  • Saturday, September 15, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 172
  • Monday, September 17, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 173
  • Tuesday, September 18, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 174
  • Wednesday, September 19, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 175
  • Thursday, September 20, 1711
  • Budgell
  • No. 176
  • Friday, September 21, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 177
  • Saturday, September 22, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 178
  • Monday, September 24, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 179
  • Tuesday, September 25, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 180
  • Wednesday, September 26, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 181
  • Thursday, September 27, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 182
  • Friday, September 28, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 183
  • Saturday, September 29, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 184
  • Monday, October 1, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 185
  • Tuesday, October 2, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 186
  • Wednesday, October 3, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 187
  • Thursday, October 4, 1711
  • Steele
    • original advertisement
  • No. 188
  • Friday, October 5, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 189
  • Saturday, October 6, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 190
  • Monday, October 8, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 191
  • Tuesday, October 9, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 192
  • Wednesday, October 10, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 193
  • Thursday, October 11, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 194
  • Friday, October 12, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 195
  • Saturday, October 13, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 196
  • Monday, October 15, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 197
  • Tuesday, October 16, 1711
  • Budgell
  • No. 198
  • Wednesday, October 17, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 199
  • Thursday, October 18, 1711
  • Steele
  • No. 200
  • Friday, October 19, 1711
  • Steele1
  • No. 201
  • Saturday, October 20, 1711
  • Addison
  • No. 202
  • Monday, October 22, 1711
  • Steele
      No comment for this book yet, be the first to comment
      You May Also Like
      The Spectator, Volume 2.
      Free
      The Spectator, Volume 2.
      By Joseph Addison, Sir Richard Steele
      Free
      Days with Sir Roger De Coverley
      By Sir Richard Steele, Joseph Addison
      The De Coverley Papers, From 'The Spectator'
      Free
      The De Coverley Papers, From 'The Spectator'
      By Sir Richard Steele, Eustace Budgell, Joseph Addison
      The Coverley Papers, From 'The Spectator'
      Free
      The Coverley Papers, From 'The Spectator'
      By Eustace Budgell, Sir Richard Steele, Joseph Addison
      The Tatler (Vol 4)
      Free
      The Tatler (Vol 4)
      By Joseph Addison, Sir Richard Steele
      Cato: A Tragedy, in Five Acts
      Free
      Cato: A Tragedy, in Five Acts
      By Joseph Addison
      Essays and Tales
      Free
      Essays and Tales
      By Joseph Addison
      Also Available On
      Categories
      Curated Lists