The Tatler (Vol 4)
Free

The Tatler (Vol 4)

By Joseph Addison, Sir Richard Steele
Free
Book Description
Table of Contents
  • The Tatler Edited with Introduction & Notes
  • To the Right Honourable Charles Lord Halifax.[1]
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • CONTENTS
  • No. 194. [Steele.[2] From Tuesday, July 4, to Thursday, July 6, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, July 5.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 195. [Steele. From Thursday, July 6, to Saturday, July 8, 1710.
    • Grecian Coffee-house, July 7.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 196. [Steele. From Saturday, July 8, to Tuesday, July 11, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, July 10.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 197. [Steele. From Tuesday, July 11, to Thursday, July 13, 1710.
    • Grecian Coffee-house, July 12.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 198. [Steele. From Thursday, July 13, to Saturday, July 15, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, July 14. The History of Cælia.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 199. [Steele.[14] From Saturday, July 15, to Tuesday, July 18, 1710.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 200. [Steele. From Tuesday, July 18, to Thursday, July 20, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, July 19.
    • The Amicable Contribution for raising the Fortunes of Ten Young Ladies.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 201. [Steele. From Thursday, July 20, to Saturday, July 22, 1710.
    • White's Chocolate-house, July 21.
    • From my own Apartment, July 21.
    • Advertisement. From the Trumpet in Sheer Lane, July 20.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 202. [Steele. From Saturday, July 22, to Tuesday, July 25, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, July 24.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 203. [Steele. From Tuesday, July 25, to Thursday, July 27, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, July 26.
    • Grecian Coffee-house, July 26.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 204. [Steele. From Thursday, July 27, to Saturday, July 29, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, July 28.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 205. [Fuller.[31] From Saturday, July 29, to Tuesday, Aug. 1, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, July 31.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 206. [Steele. From Tuesday, Aug. 1, to Thursday, Aug. 3, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Aug. 2.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 207. [Steele. From Thursday, Aug. 3, to Saturday, Aug. 5, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Aug. 4.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 208. [Steele. From Saturday, Aug. 5, to Tuesday, Aug. 8, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment Aug. 7.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 209. [Steele. From Tuesday, Aug. 8, to Thursday, Aug. 10, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Aug. 9.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 210. [Steele. From Thursday, Aug. 10, to Saturday, Aug. 12, 1710.
    • Sheer Lane, Aug. 10.
    • St. James's Coffee-house, Aug. 11.[41]
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 211. [Steele. From Saturday, Aug. 12, to Tuesday, Aug. 15, 1710.
    • Sunday, Aug. 13.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 212. [Steele. From Tuesday, Aug. 15, to Thursday, Aug. 17, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Aug. 16.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 213. [Steele. From Thursday, Aug. 17, to Saturday, Aug. 19, 1710.
    • Sheer Lane, Aug. 16.
    • Sheer Lane, Aug. 17.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 214. [Steele.[56] From Saturday, Aug. 19, to Tuesday, Aug. 22, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Aug. 21.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 215. [Steele. From Tuesday, Aug. 22, to Thursday, Aug. 24, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Aug. 23.
    • "To Isaac Bickerstaff, Esq. "The humble Petition of the Company of Linendrapers residing within the Liberty of Westminster;
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 216. [Addison. From Thursday, Aug. 24, to Saturday, Aug. 26, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Aug. 25.
    • The Will of a Virtuoso.
    • Advertisement.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 217. [Steele. From Saturday, Aug. 26, to Tuesday, Aug. 29, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Aug. 28.
    • Advertisement.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 218. [Addison. From Tuesday, Aug. 29, to Thursday, Aug. 31, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Aug. 30.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 219. [? Steele.[70] From Thursday, Aug. 31, to Saturday, Sept. 2, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Sept. 1.
    • "To Isaac Bickerstaff, Esq. "The humble Petition of Joshua Fairlove of Stepney:
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 220. [Addison. From Saturday, Sept. 2, to Tuesday, Sept. 5, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Sept. 4.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 221. [? Addison.[75] From Tuesday, Sept. 5, to Thursday, Sept. 7, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Sept. 6.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 222. [? Addison.[79] From Thursday, Sept. 7, to Saturday, Sept. 9, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Sept. 8.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 223. [? Steele.[85] From Saturday, Sept. 9, to Tuesday, Sept. 12, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Sept. 11.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 224. [Addison. From Tuesday, Sept. 12, to Thursday, Sept. 14, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Sept. 13.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 225. [Steele. From Thursday, Sept. 14, to Saturday, Sept. 16, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Sept. 15.
    • St. James's Coffee-house, Sept. 15.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 226. [Addison. From Saturday, Sept. 16, to Tuesday, Sept. 19, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Sept. 18.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 227. [Steele. From Tuesday, Sept. 19, to Thursday, Sept. 21, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Sept. 20.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 228. [Steele. From Thursday, Sept. 21, to Saturday, Sept. 23, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Sept. 22.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 229. [Addison. From Saturday, Sept. 23, to Tuesday, Sept. 26, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Sept. 25.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 230. [Steele and Swift. From Tuesday, Sept. 26, to Thursday, Sept. 28, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Sept. 27.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 231. [Steele.
    • From my own Apartment, Sept. 29.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 232. [Steele. From Saturday Sept. 30, to Tuesday, Oct. 3, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Oct. 2.
    • Advertisement.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 233. [Steele. From Tuesday, Oct. 3, to Thursday, Oct. 5, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Oct. 4.
  • No. 234. [Steele. From Thursday, Oct. 5, to Saturday, Oct. 7, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Oct. 6.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 235. [Steele.[133] From Saturday, Oct. 7, to Tuesday, Oct. 10, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Oct. 9.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 236. [Steele.[136] From Tuesday, Oct. 10, to Thursday, Oct. 12, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Oct. 11.
    • To Isaac Bickerstaff, Esq., at his House in Great Britain.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 237. [? Steele.[141] From Thursday, Oct. 12, to Saturday, Oct. 14, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Oct. 13.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 238. [Steele and Swift.[143] From Saturday, Oct. 14, to Tuesday, Oct. 17, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Oct. 16.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 239. [Addison. From Tuesday, Oct. 17, to Thursday, Oct. 19, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Oct. 18.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 240. [Addison. From Thursday, Oct. 19, to Saturday, Oct. 21, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Oct. 20.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 241. [Steele. From Saturday, Oct. 21, to Tuesday, Oct. 24, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Oct. 23.
    • Advertisement.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 242. [Steele. From Tuesday, Oct. 24, to Thursday, Oct. 26, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Oct. 25.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 243. [Addison. From Thursday, Oct. 26, to Saturday, Oct. 28, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Oct. 27.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 244. [Steele. From Saturday, Oct. 28, to Tuesday, Oct. 31, 1710.
    • Will's Coffee-house, Oct. 30.
  • No. 245. [Steele. From Tuesday, Oct. 31, to Thursday, Nov. 2, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Nov. 1.
    • Advertisement.
    • Postscript.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 246. [Steele. From Thursday, Nov. 2, to Saturday, Nov. 4, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Nov. 3.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 247. [Steele. By Jenny Distaff, Half-Sister to Mr. Bickerstaff. From Saturday, Nov. 4, to Tuesday, Nov. 7, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Nov. 6.
  • No. 248. [Steele. By Isaac Bickerstaff, Esq. From Tuesday, Nov. 7, to Thursday, Nov. 9, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Nov. 8.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 249. [Addison. From Thursday, Nov. 9, to Saturday, Nov. 11, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Nov. 10.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 250. [Addison. From Saturday, Nov. 11, to Tuesday, Nov. 14, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Nov. 13.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 251. [Steele. From Tuesday, Nov. 14, to Thursday, Nov. 16, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Nov. 15.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 252. [Steele. From Thursday, Nov. 16 to Saturday, Nov. 18, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Nov. 17.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 253. [Addison and Steele.[195] From Saturday, Nov. 18, to Tuesday, Nov. 21, 1710.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 254. [Addison and Steele.[200]
    • From my own Apartment, Nov. 22.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 255. [Addison. From Thursday, Nov. 23, to Saturday, Nov. 25, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Nov. 24.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 256. [Addison and Steele. From Saturday, Nov. 25, to Tuesday, Nov. 28, 1710.
    • The Proceedings of the Court of Honour, held in Sheer Lane, on Monday, the 20th of November, 1710, before Isaac Bickerstaff, Esq., Censor of Great Britain.[211]
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 257. [Addison and Steele. From Tuesday, Nov. 28, to Thursday, Nov. 30, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Nov. 29.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 258. [Steele. From Thursday, Nov. 30, to Saturday, Dec. 2, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Dec. 1.
    • "To Isaac Bickerstaff, Esq.[217]
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 259. [Addison and Steele. From Saturday, Dec. 2, to Tuesday, Dec. 5, 1710.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 260. [Addison and Steele. From Tuesday, Dec. 5, to Thursday, Dec. 7, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Dec. 6.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 261. [Steele. From Thursday, Dec. 7, to Saturday, Dec. 9, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Dec. 8.
    • Advertisement.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 262. [Addison and Steele. From Saturday, Dec. 9, to Tuesday, Dec. 12, 1710.
    • Journal of the Court of Honour, &c.[241]
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 263. [Steele. From Tuesday, Dec. 12, to Thursday, Dec. 14, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment Dec. 13.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 264. [Steele. From Thursday, Dec. 14, to Saturday Dec. 16, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Dec. 15.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 265. [Addison and Steele. From Saturday Dec. 16, to Tuesday, Dec. 19, 1710.
    • Continuation of the Journal of the Court of Honour, &c.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 266. [Steele. From Tuesday, Dec. 19, to Thursday, Dec. 21, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Dec. 20.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 267. [Addison. From Thursday, Dec. 21, to Saturday, Dec. 23, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Dec. 22.
    • A Prayer or Psalm made by my Lord Bacon, Chancellor of England.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 268. [Steele. From Saturday, Dec. 23, to Tuesday, Dec. 26, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment.
    • "To Isaac Bickerstaff, Esq., Censor of Great Britain. Lloyd's Coffee-house, Lombard Street, Dec. 23.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 269. [Steele. From Tuesday, Dec. 26, to Thursday, Dec. 28, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Dec. 27.
    • Advertisement.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 270. [Steele. From Thursday, Dec. 28, to Saturday, Dec. 30, 1710.
    • From my own Apartment, Dec. 29.
    • "To Isaac Bickerstaff, Esq., Censor of Great Britain. "The humble Petition of Ralph Nab, haberdasher of hats and many other poor sufferers of the same trade:
    • "To Isaac Bickerstaff, Esq., Censor of Great Britain. "The humble Petition of Elizabeth Slender, spinster:
    • "To the Rev. Mr. Ralph Incense, Chaplain to the Countess-Dowager of Brumpton.
    • Advertisements.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • No. 271. [Steele.[284] From Saturday, Dec. 30, 1710, to Tuesday, Jan. 2, 1710-1.
    • FOOTNOTES:
  • APPENDIX
    • ADVERTISEMENTS FROM THE ORIGINAL NUMBERS OF THE "TATLER"
    • FROM THE FOLIO EDINBURGH REPRINT OF THE "TATLER."
  • CORRIGENDA
  • INDEX
  • Transcriber's Notes:
The book hasn't received reviews yet.
You May Also Like
Free
The Spectator, Volume 1 Eighteenth-Century Periodical Essays
By Joseph Addison, Sir Richard Steele
The Spectator, Volume 2.
Free
The Spectator, Volume 2.
By Joseph Addison, Sir Richard Steele
Free
Days with Sir Roger De Coverley
By Sir Richard Steele, Joseph Addison
The De Coverley Papers, From 'The Spectator'
Free
The De Coverley Papers, From 'The Spectator'
By Sir Richard Steele, Eustace Budgell, Joseph Addison
The Coverley Papers, From 'The Spectator'
Free
The Coverley Papers, From 'The Spectator'
By Eustace Budgell, Sir Richard Steele, Joseph Addison
The gift of friendship
Free
The gift of friendship
By Joseph Addison, Anthusa, Aristotle, Francis Bacon, George Berkeley, Thomas Carlyle, Oliver Goldsmith, Dr. Johnson, Henry Mackenzie, Michel de Montaigne, Sir Richard Steele, H. D. Thoreau
Days with Sir Roger De Coverley
Free
Days with Sir Roger De Coverley
By Richard Steele, Sir
Cato: A Tragedy, in Five Acts
Free
Cato: A Tragedy, in Five Acts
By Joseph Addison
Also Available On
Categories
Curated Lists